Help: Groups — Member Management

Adding Students to your Group

  1. After students register new accounts, they will be asked to enter a Group Code to get access to Mouse Create.
  2. Login to Mouse Create with your educator account.
  3. If you are a member of multiple Groups select the Group you want to add students to.
  4. Click the Group button in the top menu to get to your Group page.
  5. Find the Group Code under the name of your group.
  6. Share this Group Code with your students. Note: the code is not case sensitive.

About the Members Table

  • Name (Username): Shows each group member’s avatar, their real name, and their Mouse Create username in parentheses.
  • Role: Shows whether each group member is a student or an educator.
  • Age: Shows the age of student group members.
    Credly Connected: Shows either ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ depending on whether the group member listed has connected their Mouse Create account to a Credly account. Users can connect to Credly on their profile.* Last Login: Shows the date each group member last logged in to Mouse Create.
  • Actions: For educators shows links for Editing student accounts and for archiving students from the group, for students shows “None".

Editing Students’ Accounts: Passwords, Usernames and Emails

Any Educator in the same group as a student can change that student’s password, username, email address, avatar or bio. To edit a student account:

  • Go to the Members tab of the group page.
  • In that student’s row in the Members table, click the “Edit Account" link in the Actions column.
  • After making changes to the student’s account click the Update Profile button at the bottom of the page to save changes.

Archiving Students from your Group

When a student is no longer participating in your Mouse group, you can archive them on Mouse Create. To archive a student from your group

  • Go to the Members tab of the group page.
  • In that student’s row in the Members table, click the “Archive user from Group" link in the Actions column.
  • If this student is in no other groups on Mouse Create, they will no longer be able to access your group, or submit projects.

What happens when you archive a student? Work previously submitted by archived students will still appear in the Group Work table, and badges earned by archived students will still appear in the Badges table. Archived students are no longer able to be selected as collaborators by other group members. If a student is archived from the only group they are a member of they will no longer have full access to Mouse Create until they join another group.

To unarchive a student from a group click on the “Manage archived users" link at the bottom of the Members table. Next, click on the “Change Status" link in the that student’s row in the Manage Archived Members table. Then, in the popup that appears change that student’s status from “Archived" to “Active", then click the “Update Status" button.